NSW Waratahs team named to face Sharks in Durban


By NSW Waratahs Media unit

A new second row combination and backrow trio will take to Kings Park on Saturday (Sunday morning AEDT) when the NSW Waratahs take on the Sharks in Durban in the Vodafone Super Rugby competition.

Ned Hanigan will partner Tom Staniforth at lock and Michael Wells moves from No 8 to blindside flank with Jed Holloway starting at the back of the scrum.

Three players on the bench are set to make their NSW Waratahs Super Rugby debut: front rower Kalivati Tawake, loose forward Will Miller and halfback Mitch Short.

NSW Waratahs coach Daryl Gibson said: “We have reviewed the Stormers game and focused on some key areas of our game this week, including our ability to get out of our territory quicker while at the same time working on ways to negate the Sharks’ strength areas.

“Last week’s win showed we have character and purpose as a team and even though there were some shaky moments, it was encouraging to see the team pull through a tight and physical match. We are looking to build on the character and positive attitude that was shown last week.”

The match can viewed live on Fox Sports from midnight on Sunday 3 March. You can also keep up with all the action on our match centre page.

NSW Waratahs team to play the Sharks:

1. Tom Robertson (28)
2. Damien Fitzpatrick (32)
3. Paddy Ryan (92)
4. Ned Hanigan (16)
5. Tom Staniforth (1)
6. Michael Wells (16)
7. Michael Hooper (81, captain)
8. Jed Holloway (24)
9. Jake Gordon (13)
10. Bernard Foley (88, vice-captain)
11. Curtis Rona (1)
12. Kurtley Beale (111)
13. Lalakai Foketi (1)
14. Andrew Kellaway (21)
15. Israel Folau (76)

16. Hugh Roach (31)
17. Harry Johnson-Holmes (1)
18. Kalivati Tawake (*)
19. Nick Palmer (1)
20. Will Miller (*)
21. Mitch Short (*)
22. Bryce Hegarty (14)
23. Alex Newsome (1)






An error has occurred. Error Loading the Article List: