Women's Premiership rugby is back


By NSW Waratahs Media unit

The pinnacle competition for women’s club rugby, The Jack Scott Cup, kicks off this weekend.

Eastern Suburbs (formerly Waverly) and West Harbour have joined the competition for the first time since 2005 and 2006 respectively. Blacktown, Campbelltown, Parramatta, University of Sydney, University of Wollongong and Warringah will all return in 2018.

It is the only rugby competition that sees teams from Premiership, Suburban and NSW Country rugby all play in the same league, and with the introduction of the Buildcorp Super W this season, there has been a renewed hunger for women’s rugby across the State.

The Jack Scott Cup was named after Newcastle-Hunter Rugby Union life member, Jack Scott who dedicated his life to rugby in the Hunter region.

The competition originally began as a Statewide affair with teams from metropolitan and country regions vying for the title. Scott also has a medal in his honour, which is awarded annually to the best Under 19s player in the Newcastle age grade competition.

Warringah are the current Cup holders after beating Sydney University 21-17 in the final in 2017 to record their 11th title.

Round 1 Fixtures (Saturday 14 April)

West Harbour (H) vs Eastern Suburbs (A) – St Luke’s North, 11:00am
Sydney University (H) vs Parramatta (A) – St Paul’s Oval, 11:00am
Blacktown (H) vs University of Wollongong (A) – Alwyn Lind Reserve, 1:00pm
Warringah and Campbelltown – Byes

Download the FUSESPORTS APP to keep up to date with all the fixtures and live scores throughout the season.

Don’t miss the second all-NSW double-header at Allianz Stadium on Friday 20 April when NSW Women take on Queensland Women in the Buildcorp Super W Grand Final.

The match is followed by the NSW Waratahs against 2017 Super Rugby finalists the Lions in an ANZAC round special.

To secure your seat head to: www.nswwaratahs.com.au/tickets.






An error has occurred. Error Loading the Article List: