By NSW Rugby Media

Four new faces will feature as part of the NSW Waratahs team named in the 2019 Vodafone Super Rugby season opener at Brookvale Oval on Saturday night against the Hurricanes.

It’s set to be an electric atmosphere at Brookvale Oval, as fans prepare for an epic round one clash against a strong Kiwi side. Limited tickets still on offer - pre-purchase tickets here.

Young stars Rory O’Connor and Lachlan Swinton will start on the bench, looking to get their first Super Rugby cap in front of a local home crowd on the northern beaches.

They will be joined by Chris Talakai and Karmichael Hunt who will also look to pull on the sky blue jersey for the first time in Super Rugby.

Hunt, an experienced international player, will start in the centres alongside one of NSW Waratahs favourite sons Adam Ashley-Cooper who returns to the sky blu.

NSW Waratahs Head Coach Daryl Gibson said this is a new approach for Super Rugby teams in Australia, so changes to the line up can be expected throughout the season.

“Karmichael’s inclusion allows us the ability to manage the workload of Kurtley (Beale) who was the Waratahs highest minute player in 2018. KB will get an extra week to prepare for the season ahead,” said Gibson.

“This is a new approach for Australian rugby teams, rotating players and managing their world loads leading into a World Cup campaign.

“This is why we ensured we had depth in our squad so we have the flexibility while remaining competitive,” he said.

Gibson also gave praise to the players who are in line to make their Super Rugby debuts.

“It’s pleasing to also have potential Super Rugby debutants in Rory (O’Connor), Chris (Talkai) and Lachy (Swinton) among our 23 who have all earned their spots given their efforts throughout our pre-season,” he said.

The NSW Waratahs 2019 Vodafone Super Rugby season will kick off on Saturday 16 February at Brookvale Oval from 7:45pm. To purchase tickets – click here.

NSW Waratahs Team – Round 1 Super Rugby vs Hurricanes
1. Harry Johnson-Holmes
2. Damien Fitzpatrick
3. Sekope Kepu
4. Jed Holloway
5. Rob Simmons
6. Ned Hanigan
7. Michael Hooper
8. Jack Dempsey
9. Jake Gordon
10. Bernard Foley
11. Curtis Rona
12. Karmichael Hunt
13. Adam Ashley-Cooper
14. Alex Newsome
15. Israel Folau

16. Tolu Latu
17. Rory O'Connor
18. Chris Talakai
19. Lachlan Swinton
20. Will Miller
21. Mitch Short
22. Mack Mason
23. Cam Clark






An error has occurred. Error Loading the Article List: