Last week was proof yet again that any team can win the Intrust Super Shute Shield in 2019. Manly toppled Sydney University and West Harbour clawed their way back into the game to beat Northern Suburbs in an absolute thriller thanks to Tiaan Swanepoel’s drop goal. The Wicks went down to Gordon on the bell in a match that came down to a missed long-distance penalty, Eastern Suburbs snuck home against the struggling Southern Districts and Warringah once again asserted their dominance over the Two Blues to secure their top of the ladder spot.

In our round 12 match of the round, Warringah will welcome back their favourite son NSW Waratah Rory O’Connor this week, as an immense inclusion into what looks like an already abrasive pack, as Mees Erasmus pushes to the bench. Maclean Jones returned last week from a long injury lay-off while Sam Ward is back in after sitting out last weekend’s match. Hamish Angus was not named this week, which means Ben Marr will direct from fly-half. Marr, our Canon Player in Focus, has played fullback, wing and in the centres already this year, so it should be a seamless transition for the slender utility. Guy Rees comes in for Luke Vescio at inside centre while Harry Jones will look to showcase his skill on the wing.

Eastern Suburbs will be hungry to spoil Warringah’s eight-game win streak and are boosted by the inclusion of 4 NSW Waratahs. Ryan McCauley joins BJ Edwards in the second row, Mack Mason returns at 10 and will look to use the strike-power of his big centres Ned Yeomans and Lalakai Foketi. The Paterson brothers will be hard to stop on the wings, and if given enough space, they will punish the Rats. Alex Newsome will provide composure at fullback where he looked good last weekend for the NSW Waratahs.

Warringah have now crept back into top spot on the ladder with 38 points, with Eastern Suburbs placed in 6th on 27 points.

Warringah (1-15)
Rory O’Connor, Robert Kelly, Faavae Sila, Sam Thomson, Max Girdler, Ru MacKenzie, Maclean Jones, Sam
Ward, Josh Holmes, Benny Marr, Harry Jones, Guy Rees, Harley Attwater, Ben Woollett, Liam Windon

Eastern Suburbs (1-15)
Callum King, Lindsey Stevens, Cody Walker, BJ Edwards, Ryan McCauley, Jack Turley, Charlie Gamble, Tim Buchanan, Jack Grant, Mack Mason, Henry Paterson, Ned Yeomans, Lalakai Foketi, William Paterson, Alex Newsome.

TV fixture livestream is available on from 3 PM (AEST) on Saturday.
7TWO NATIONWIDE REPLAY on Sunday at 4:00 AM local time.






An error has occurred. Error Loading the Article List: