Nine Waratahs in Wallaroos Test squad


Buildcorp Wallaroos Coach, Dwayne Nestor has trimmed the squad to 29 players, with just 22 days until the first Test in Newcastle at No.2 Sportsground on Saturday 13 July.

New South Wales backrower, Grace Hamilton has been named captain for the Buildcorp Wallaroos ahead of their historic two Test Series against Japan next month.

Originally from Orange in country New South Wales, Hamilton already has 11 Test after making her debut against New Zealand in 2016.

Hamilton will lead a side featuring nine players from the NSW Waratahs, following their Championship winning Super W season.

Buildcorp Wallaroos Head Coach, Dwayne Nestor said congratulated those selected for an important series against Japan.

“There were some really difficult selections to be made, but that is a testament to the work ethic of the extended squad and the real depth we are growing following on from the second season of Buildcorp Super W,” Nestor said.

“Grace (Hamilton) is going to make a fantastic captain in 2019, she’s passionate about this team, passionate about rugby, has a strong drive to win and to set high standards.

“Humble and hardworking she embodies what we want this to team to be about and I know she will be supported by a strong leadership team.

“The hard work is only just beginning, as we have a massive opportunity this year with the Tests scheduled and I know the squad is looking forward to getting into camp in Newcastle on July 6.”

Australia has four Tests in 2019 including a two Test Series against New Zealand at Optus Stadium in Perth and Eden Park in Auckland in August.

Buildcorp Wallaroos Test squad:

Millie Boyle, Royals (Canberra), Queensland Women's XV
Emily Chancellor, Sydney University, NSW Waratahs Women
Rebecca Clough, Cottesloe, Rugby WA Women
Grace Hamilton, Sydney University, NSW Waratahs Women
Alisha Hewett, GPS/ADFRU, Queensland Women's XV
Evelyn Horomia, Western Sydney, NSW Waratahs Women
Asoiva (Eva) Karpani*, Randwick, NSW Waratahs Women
Michaela Leonard*, Vikings, Brumbies Women
Kiri Lingman, Sunnybank, Queensland Women's XV
Ashley Marsters, Box Hill, Melbourne Rebels Women
Shannon Mato*, Sunnybank, Queensland Women's XV
Averyl Mitchell*, Souths, Queensland Women's XV
Sera Naiqama*, Sydney University, NSW Waratahs Women
Liz Patu, Wests, Queensland Women's XV
Emily Robinson, Warringah, NSW Waratahs Women
Christina Sekona*, Sunnybank, Queensland Women's XV

Mhicca Carter, Cottesloe, Rugby WA Women
Georgia Cormick*, Powerhouse, Melbourne Rebels Women
Lori Cramer*, University of Queensland, Queensland Women's XV
Ariana Hira-Herangi*, Kalamunda, Rugby WA Women
Chloe Leaupepe, Warringah, NSW Waratahs Women
Alysia Lefau-Fakaosilea*, Sunnybank, Queensland Women's XV
Cobie-Jane Morgan, Sunnybank, Queensland Women's XV
Arabella McKenzie*, Randwick, NSW Waratahs Women
Mahalia Murphy, Campbelltown, NSW Waratahs Women
Asako Ono*, University of Queensland, Queensland Women's XV
Trilleen Pomare, Kalamunda, Rugby WA Women
Sarah Riordan, Wests/ADFRU, Queensland Women's XV
Samantha Treherne, Sunnybank, Queensland Women's XV
*Denotes Uncapped

Buildcorp Wallaroos 2019 Fixtures 

Saturday 13 July

Australia v Japan, Newcastle Sportsground Number 2, Newcastle
Friday 19 July
Australia v Japan, North Sydney Oval, Sydney
Saturday 10 August
Australia v New Zealand, Optus Stadium, Perth
Saturday 17 August
Australia v New Zealand, Eden Park, Auckland






An error has occurred. Error Loading the Article List: