Lachie Turner returns to Wallabies Tri-Nations squad


Thursday, 19 August 2010
ARU Media Release

The inclusion of the new Australian Sevens representatives Lachie Turner, Nick Cummins and Pat McCabe, are among the features of the 28-man Wallabies squad that will depart for the South African leg of the Bundaberg Red Tri-Nations series tomorrow. Today's selection is the second national recognition for the trio this week, after all three were named in the Australian team that will compete at October's Commonwealth Games Sevens tournament in New Delhi, India, on Tuesday. 

The trio have all been brought into the travelling party to cover injuries, with Cummins and McCabe featuring for the first time.

Turner, who has 11 Test caps to his name, is yet to appear for Australia this year, although he did feature in both matches for the Australian Barbarians during their two-game midweek series with England in June. Cummins also featured in that series.

McCabe has been selected after being brought into train with the Wallabies during the Tri-Nations, being watched by Wallabies coach Robbie Deans while he appeared at centre for Warringah in NSW club play last weekend. The presence of McCabe and Cummins lifts to three the number of uncapped players in the touring party, alongside Queensland Reds loose forward Scott Higginbotham.

Two players who accompanied the Wallabies to New Zealand earlier in the month who won't be on tomorrow's plane to South Africa are the Western Force team-mates, winger Cameron Shepherd, and flanker Matt Hodgson.

Both are injured, with Shepherd picking up a grade one hamstring strain during a training run in Perth last week while Hodgson sustained a groin strain at Wallabies training in Sydney on Tuesday.

The pair's recovery will be monitored, although neither are expected to be available until Australia's final outing of the Tri-Nations, against New Zealand back in Sydney on 11 September, at the earliest.

Peter Hynes has also been ruled out after experiencing problems with his previously injured knee during training this week.

Of the other players not required in Christchurch who are touring, flyhalf Quade Cooper is back after having served his two-match suspension for a dangerous tackle, while prop Ben Daley and second row Mark Chisholm will also be on the plane in the morning, after having been unused to date during the Tri-Nations.

Australia faces a demanding schedule, with matches back-to-back against South Africa at Pretoria on 28 August, and Bloemfontein on 4 September, prior to returning to Sydney for the tournament finale against New Zealand at ANZ Stadium.

The Wallabies are currently second on the standings at the tournament's mid-point, requiring a win in just one of the matches in the Republic in order to reclaim the Mandela Trophy.

Australia won the trophy two years ago, when it beat South Africa in the Republic for the first time in eight years, but surrendered its possession with a 1-2 loss in last year's series. It has won its last two matches against the Springboks, 21-6 and 30-13, with both wins being achieved in Brisbane.

This time, the 'Men in Gold' face two matches at altitude, where Australia has not won since an 11-9 success at Johannesburg in 1963.

The Wallabies have never won from four previous attempts at Loftus Versfeld in Pretoria, while the history is scarcely more favourable in Bloemfontein where Australia won 15-4 on debut in 1933 but have been beaten in both matches played there since.

As well as reclaiming the Mandela Trophy, success in South Africa would ensure a second-placed finish in this year's Tri-Nations.

The Wallabies will initially be based at sea level in Cape Town prior to heading to Pretoria next week.

The Tri-Nations resumes after a week's break on Saturday when the Springboks entertain the All Blacks at Soccer City in Soweto, Johannesburg.

A win for the visitors would ensure them of this year's title even though they still have an away appointment with the Wallabies to come.

Adam Ashley-Cooper (Northern Suburbs/Brumbies), Berrick Barnes (Sydney University/HSBC Waratahs), Kurtley Beale (Randwick/HSBC Waratahs), Richard Brown (Western Force), Luke Burgess (Sydney University/HSBC Waratahs), Mark Chisholm (Randwick/Brumbies), Quade Cooper (Queensland Reds), Nick Cummins (Randwick/Western Force), Ben Daley (Queensland Reds), Rocky Elsom [c] (Brumbies), Anthony Faingaa (Queensland Reds), Saia Faingaa (Queensland Reds), Will Genia (Queensland Reds), Matt Giteau (Balmain/Brumbies), Scott Higginbotham (Queensland Reds), Salesi Ma'afu (West Harbour/Brumbies), Pat McCabe (Warringah/Brumbies), Ben McCalman (Sydney University/Western Force), Drew Mitchell (Balmain/HSBC Waratahs), Stephen Moore (Brumbies), Dean Mumm (Sydney University/HSBC Waratahs), James O'Connor (Western Force), David Pocock (Western Force), Benn Robinson (Eastwood/HSBC Waratahs), Nathan Sharpe (Western Force), Rob Simmons (Queensland Reds), James Slipper (Queensland Reds), Lachie Turner (Eastwood/HSBC Waratahs).






An error has occurred. Error Loading the Article List: