Harvey claims second Catchpole Medal


By Sydney Rugby Union

Gordon utility back Dave Harvey has joined an elite group of club Rugby players after winning his second Ken Catchpole Medal at the 2011 Sydney Rugby Union Awards held this afternoon at The Rugby Club.

Harvey is just the fourth player to claim Sydney club Rugby’s top individual prize since the award’s inception in 1981. St George legend Peter Lucas won the award in 1983 and was part of a three-way tie with teammate David Niu and Eastwood’s Sione Tahaafe in 1996; Mark Catchpole won the award for two different clubs in 1994 (Warringah) and 1998 (Sydney University); and Eastwood’s Scott Fava was victorious in 2002, 2003 and 2004.
Harvey shot to the lead early in the voting but was overtaken by Northern Suburbs flanker AJ Gilbert as the season progressed. However with Gilbert failing to score any points past round 15, Harvey drew within two points in round 20 and scored maximum points in round 21 to take the lead on 18 points.
Neither Gilbert (17pts) nor Harvey scored points in the final round meaning Eastwood captain, and perennial Catchpole Medal contender Hugh Perrett, would claim a share of the prize with maximum points however he was awarded just one point leaving him in third (16pts).
Perrett polled points in nine matches – two more than any other player – however the overall strength of the minor premiers’ ultimately worked against his claims on the individual award.
HSBC Waratahs flyhalf Berrick Barnes earned selection in the Wallaby squad with his late season form for Sydney University. He registered 14 points in just five matches between rounds 16 and 20 to finish in fourth position.
Brendan McKibbin (Eastern Suburbs), the 2010 Ken Catchpole Medallist, missed most of the Shute Shield season after becoming a regular in the HSBC Waratahs match day squad, however he still managed to finish in a share of fifth place (13 points) with Sam Latunipulu (Southern Districts), Shaun Treweek (West Harbour) and Zack Holmes (Northern Suburbs).
Players were awarded points on a 3-2-1 basis by the referees of every Shute Shield match in the regular season.
In the other Sydney Rugby Union Awards presented today:
·         Australian Sevens captain and recently-signed HSBC Waratahs utility Bernard Foley claimed the 2011 Shute Shield Rookie of the Year Award;
·         Eastwood coach John Manenti was awarded with the David Brockhoff Medal for Shute Shield Coach of the Year;
·         Grand Final whistle blower Ian Smith claimed the Dick Byres Medal for Shute Shield Referee of the Year;
·         Sydney University was presented with the Gregor George Trophy for the 2011 Club Championship and the Eric Spilsted Shield for the Colts Club Championship; and
·         Sam Stewart (Lennox Head Trojans) was recognised as the NSW Country Player of the Year with the Will Tanner Award.

Friday 23 September 2011
The Rugby Club, Sydney
Shute Shield Player of the Year
18 Dave Harvey (Gordon)
17 AJ Gilbert (Northern Suburbs)
16 Hugh Perrett (Eastwood)
14 Berrick Barnes (Sydney University)
13 Dion Berryman (Gordon)
13 Sam Latunipulu (Southern Districts)
13 Brendan McKibbin (Eastern Suburbs)
13 Shaun Treweek (West Harbour)
12 Zack Holmes (Eastern Northern Suburbs)
12 Matt Schwager (Sydney University)
Bernard Foley (Sydney University)
Shute Shield Coach of the Year
John Manenti (Eastwood)
Shute Shield Referee of the Year
Ian Smith







An error has occurred. Error Loading the Article List: