2012 Representative Game - Sydney vs GrainCorp NSW Country Gold Cockatoos


The annual Sydney v GrainCorp NSW Country Gold Cockatoos game is on this weekend (June 9) at Concord Oval and will showcase some of the best talent running around in the Shute Shield and NSW Country competitions.
The June long weekend signifies the bye round for the majority of Shute Shield players, however for the chosen few it comes as a chance to step up into the representative level and test their abilities against the best in Sydney and the NSW Country. 
There will be plenty of fire in the match with 13 players from the Shute Shield being selected in the NSW Country Squad to face off against the Sydney representative side.
One of those players includes Northern Suburbs captain AJ Gilbert who has been chosen for the Country side due to his club roots in Dorrigo. He will be accompanied by three of his Northern Suburbs teammates in the NSW Country squad, which includes James Smith (Shoalhaven), Rory Walton (Coffs Harbour) and Liam Walker (Taree).
Sydney will be the more favorable side coming into the match with some of the best players across the Shute Shield. Eastern Suburbs have the largest contingent of players in the squad due to their recent performances leading up to round eight of the Shute Shield.
Due to the wet weather being experienced in Sydney at the moment the game has been moved from Manly Oval to the more favorable Concord Oval. The match will kick off at 3:10pm.
You can catch the Sydney v GrainCorp NSW Country Gold Cockatoos game on ABC 1 from 3pm on Saturday afternoon in NSW and the ACT. For interstate viewers, tune in at 4am on Tuesday mornings nationally on ABC 1 for the replay or alternatively you can catch up on ABC Iview.
You can also stay in touch with this weekends match on the Shute Shield Facebook page via http://www.facebook.com/shuteshield or onhttp://www.facebook.com/abcshuteshield where you can catch game highlights and a preview of the next Shute Shield round.
Alternatively, follow the Shute Shield on Twitter via @shuteshield or@abcshuteshield where you can receive updates on the game as it happens. 
You can catch up on all the Shute Shield and Sydney v NSW Country action via digital radio with ABC Grandstands new rugby show The Clubhouse. Hosted by Patrick Foulkes and Niav Owens the program will be on-air for half an hour every Monday evening from 6:05pm. To tune in go to http://www.abc.net.au/news/sport and click "listen live" or download the show on the blog any time at http://blogs.abc.net.au/grandstand/2012/05/the-clubhouse-abc-grandstands-monday-club-rugby-show.html
Sydney: 1. Clay Brodie (Eastern Suburbs), 2. James Hilterbrand (Manly), 3. Richard Aho (Penrith); 4. Greg Peterson (Manly), 5. Phil Mathers [c] (Eastern Suburbs); 6. Mitch Lees (Eastwood), 7. Miles McCaffrey (Eastwood), 8. Pauli Taumeopeau (Eastern Suburbs); 9. Dewet Roos (Southern Districts), 10. Angus Sinclair (Eastern Suburbs); 11. Oleni Ngungutau (West Harbour), 12. Anton Lavin (Eastern Suburbs), 13. Iese Leota (Parramatta), 14. Clinton Sills (Randwick); 15. David Feltscheer (Warringah.
Reserves: 16. Patto Noriega (Randwick), 17. Paul Ngauamo (West Harbour), 18. Adam Coleman (Parramatta), 19. Jason Peseta (Penrith), 20. Richard Hooper (Manly), 21. Chris Burnett (Gordon), 22. David Fong (Sydney University).
Coaches: Matt Briggs/Ross Hopkins
Graincorp NSW Country Gold Cockatoos: 1. James Smith (Northern Suburbs/Shoalhaven), 2. Ron Hobden (Gordon/Robb College), 3. Joey Lynch (Southern Districts/Maitland); 4. Rory Walton (Northern Suburbs/Coffs Harbour) 5. Jeff Wilson (Lennox Head),; 6. Gavin Holder (Camden), 7. Josh Stewart [c] (Tamworth Pirates), 8. AJ Gilbert (Northern Suburbs/Dorrigo); 9. Mick Snowden (Eastwood/Tamworth Pirates), 10. Toby Browne (Randwick/Cowra); 11. Donny Nepia (Wollongong Univeristy), 12. Sam Stewart (Lennox Head), 13. Pat Dellit (Eastern Suburbs/Maitland), 14. Damien Reti (Manly/Tamworth Pirates); 15. Harry Bennett (Eastern Suburbs/Scone).
Reserves: 16. Billy Johnston (Colleagues/Wollongbar), 17. Shannon Beavan (Kariong), 18. Va Talaileva (Hamilton), 19. Mike Te Mona (Armidale), 20. Jake Robinson (Lennox Head) / Liam Walker (Northern Suburbs/Taree), 21. Alex Gibbon (Southern Districts/Wollongbar), 22. Tom Azar (Eastern Suburbs/Warren), 23. Kevin McNamarra (Warnervale)
Team subject to change due to injury
Coaches: Col Jeffs/Mark Giacheri






An error has occurred. Error Loading the Article List: